Why social workers are silent on mining issue- ask the anti mining activists.

tribal rights meet
Mr. Sainu gota, Dr. Mahesh Kopulwar, Ramdas Jarate and other leaders seated on the dais.

Gadchiroli Jan. 12 (District Correspondent) ‘Why have the social workers in the district who have received government awards in the name of serving the tribals, have not participated in the struggle against the iron mines which are trying to destroy the very existence of the tribals? it was asked by the activists.

This was the question asked by the anti mining activists in the Tribal rights Meet held at Surjagad recently that was organized at Surjagad by the Gram Sabha Samiti recently to mark the Thakurdeo Yatra.

Surjagad Area Chief of Gram Sabha Sainu Gota presided over the meeting while CPI leader Dr. Mahesh Kopulwar, Arun Wankar, PWP leader Bhai Ramdas Jarate, CPM District Secretary Amol Markwar, CPI District Secretary Devrao Chawale, district in-charge of BRSP Raj Bansod, District President of Tribal Development Youth Council Vinod Madavi, former Panchayat Samiti member Shilatai Gota, Jayashreetai Welda, poetess Kusum Alam were prominently present.

The mining issue was discussed in detail in this rally and it was demanded to stop the ongoing mining work and also proposed mining in the district saying it has been causing severe environmental losses as well as destruction of the livelihood resources and deities of the tribals.

The leaders of Pragatik Party, Maharashtra Aghadi, who participated in the agitation against the illegal iron mines in the district attended this conference and guided the people about their rights.

At the concluding function of the Yatra tribal social worker Devaji Tofa visited the meet. The activists from Surjagad area held a discussion with him and expressed their anger against the social workers and the administration of the district. It was clearly told that ‘those who are not in our struggle, we are also not with them. The anti-prohibition and anti-distillery stand was also criticized. Notably, this year leaders of various political parties who did not have a clear stance of opposition in relation to iron mining were denied a place on the platform of the conference.

Shamsunder Urade, Akshay Kosankar, Adv. Jagdish Meshram, Vinod Zodge, Milind Bhanare, AAP’s Chandrapur District President Mayur Raikwar were mainly present.

Mr. Laxman Nawdi, Mangesh Holi, Pattu Potavi, Sainu Hichami, Ramesh Kavdo, Sarpanch Karuna Sadmek, former Sarpanch Kalpana Alam, Darsu Timma, Shivaji Gota and other workers worked hard for the success of Thakurdev Yatra and Traditional Rights Conference.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here