Indian Railways team wins ball national badminton contest.

ball badminton tournament
Ms. Tanushree Atram and others seen at the prize distribution ceremony.

Gadchiroli Jan. 12 (District Correspondent) The Indian Railways team emerged victorious in men’s category in men’s ball badminton national tournament, and Karnataka team in women’s category. The tournament was held recently on the grounds of govt. Science College here.

The Ball Badminton Federation of India, Maharashtra Ball Badminton Association and Ball Badminton Association Gadchiroli had organized the 69th Senior National Ball Badminton Championship. Around 30 men’s teams and 26 women’s teams participated in this competition including the teams from various states of the country like Jammu and Kashmir, Ladakh, Karnataka, Tamil Nadu, Bihar, Uttar Pradesh, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh etc.

The competition was concluded in an atmosphere of great enthusiasm. The prize distribution ceremony was attended by Ms. Tanushree Atram, Senate Member. Principal of Government Science College Dr. Prashant Jaki presided over the programme. as the President of the program. Mr. Y Rajarao, General Secretary of Ball Badminton Federation of India, Dr. Anita Lokhande, Sports Director of Gondwana University, Priya Rohankar of Carmel High School, Ball Badminton Association Working President D. S. Gosavi, BBFI Executive Member Prof. Rupali Papadkar, Mahendra Singh Dhoni Cricket Academy Nagpur Director Mangesh Raut were mainly present.

In this National Championship, Indian Railway team won first place in men’s group, Andhra Pradesh won second place, Tamil Nadu won third place, Karnataka won fourth place. In women’s category, Karnataka won first place, Tamil Nadu won second place, Kerala got the third place and Andhra Pradesh won fourth place.

In men’s doubles category, Tamil Nadu was the first, Kerala second, Karnataka third and Andhra Pradesh stood fourth. In the women’s category, Karnataka, got the first rank, Tamil Nadu, the second, the third rank is Bihar got third and Andhra Pradesh team was the fourth.

In mixed doubles, Tamil Nadu won first place, Andhra Pradesh second place, Kerala third place, Karnataka fourth place. Rahul Prasad, Gaurav Tiwari of Chhattisgarh team and Saloni of Rajasthan team, Vandana Kumari of Bihar team, Shagun Singh of Chhattisgarh team, Harshada More of Maharashtra team, Janvi of Haryana team were honoured in the women’s section.

D Venkatesh Ganesh of Indian Railways team was given the special award of Star of India. Rupendra of Andhra Pradesh team, N Kalai Sailwan of Indian Railways team, Ganesh Kumar of Tamil Nadu team, Sahana of Karnataka team, Malini of Tamil Nadu team, Pallavi of Karnataka team, Kavyashree of Andhra Pradesh team, Joshna John of Kerala team were honoured in women’s section.

Chairman of the Organizing Committee Prof. Rishikant Papadkar made an introductory speech, Dr. Rakesh Chadgulwar conducted the programme and President of Ball Badminton Association Om Prakash Sangrame gave vote of thanks.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here