Gondwana University decision of D. Lit. opposed by social organizations.

gondwana university
Gondwana University

Gadchiroli Feb. 21 (District Correspondent) Various social and political organizations of Gadchiroli district have strongly opposed the Gondwana University’s recent decision to award honorary D. Litt. degrees to two ministers of Maharashtra State and have demanded that the university immediately cancel this decision.

These organizations have also demanded immediate removal of Dr. Prashant Bokare from the post of Vice-Chancellor alleging that he has always been propagating a particular ideology and imposing that it on the students and citizens of the district.

A meeting of the various social and political organizations of Gadchiroli district was held at Chandekar Bhavan here in which the decision taken by the university to award honorary D. Litt degrees to the two ministers in the state cabinet was strongly opposed.

Gondwana University is a public institution but Vice-Chancellor Bokare is turning the university into a centre of promoting a particular party and ideology of his choice. This type of behaviour is definitely unacceptable. This opinion was expressed by the activists present on this occasion. They expressed strong disapproval of the Vice Chancellor’s conduct. Even in the past, the Gondwana University has taken many decisions which were controversial and favourable to a particular school of thought. This has raised the question whether this university is a centre of education or propaganda of a particular ideology, they asked.

The leaders of these organizations warned to launch an agitation of the decision is not withdrawn by the university.

Shetkari Kamgar Party’s Bhai Ramdas Jarate, Andhashraddha Nirmulan Samiti’s Vilas Nimborkar, Communist Party of india’s Deorao Chawde, Marxist communist Party’s Amol Marakwar, All India Republican Party’s  Hansraj Undirwade, noted tribal activist and poetess Kusum Alam, Bahujan Republican Socialist Party’s Raj Bansod,  Sanvidhan Foundation’s Gautam Meshram, Gadchiroli Citizen Forum’s Hemand Dorlikar, Movement for Justice’s Dharmanand Meshram, Bhartiya Boudhha Mahasabha’s Prof. Gautam Dange, Adiwasi Vikas Yuwa Parishad’s Kunal Kowe, Vinod Madavi, Panchasheel Samaj Mandal’s Sukhdeo Wasnik, youth leader of PWP Akshay Kosankar, Republican Mahila Aghadi’s Jyoti Undirwade, Kalpana Ramteke, youth activist Nagsen Khobragade, Republican Party’s Pralhad Raypure, Narendra Raypure and others have opposed the university decision.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here