Adiwasi Kanwar Samaj mass marriage held.

kanwar samaj
A view of the mass marriage.

Gadchiroli April 24 (District Correspondent) A mass marriage of the Kanwar community was organized at village Nanhi in Kurkheda taluka by Adiwasi Kanwar Samaj the other day.

The marriages of as many as 29 couples from Chhattisgarh and Maharashtra were solemnized in this ceremony with a traditional tribal custom and rituals. Such community marriages are being organised in this small village for the last 25 years to avoid the unwanted expenditure.

The ceremony was inaugurated at the hands of Mr. Krishna Gajbhe, MLA from Armori. Mr. Bindulal Fulkunwar, President of Adiwasi Kanwar Samaj, Chhattisgarh State, presided over the programme. Mr. Bharat Dudhnang, director of Tribal Development Corporation, Dr. Meghraj Kapur, senior leader of Kanwar Samaj, Parasram Tikle, former Chairman of Wadsa Panchayat Samiti, Jeevan Naat, former ZP Vice President, Changdeo Faye of BJP were prominently present as the chief guests.

Speaking on the occasion Mr. Gajbhe appreciated the venture of the Kanwar community saying it will give inspiration to the society and extended his best wishes to the newly married couples and their relatives. Such programmes should be organized on regular basis, he advised. The MLA assured to extend all the necessary help to the community.

Mr. Fulkunwar, in his presidential speech congratulated the organizers for such an innovative experiment and expressed the need of continuing the tradition so that the money, time and energy is saved. The Kanwar community youths should take higher education and obtain higher posts, he suggested.

Dr. Meghraj Kapur, in his introductory speech, highlighted the problems of the community and called upon the community members to unitedly fight to get them solved.

Mr. Sonu Kapur and Ganesh Sonkalangi conducted the programme and Mr. Krishna chandrama proposed the vote of thanks. The ceremony was attended by the relatives and community members in large numbers. The arrangement of the meals for the participants was made by the organizers.

Also present on the occasion were Mr. Shrikant Ghatbandhe, Brijlal Bagderiya, Chandrabhan Hundra, Ambika Banjar, Santosh Sahla, Ravindra Gotefode, Giridhar Titram, Champabai Sonkukra, Asiyabai Thatmura and others.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here