Stop suppressing people’s agitation, demands Pragatik Paksha Maharashtra Aghadi.

pragatik paksha aghadi
Pragatik Paksh Aghadi leaders submitting memorandum to Mr. Uday Samant.

Gadchiroli Nov. 26 (District correspondent) Pragatik Paksha Maharashtra Aghadi has demanded that the suppression of the people’s agitation protesting against the mining projects should be stopped immediately.

A delegation of the Aghadi leaders met the Industries Minister Uday Samant at the collectorate here and submitted him a memorandum in this regard.

In order to excavate iron mines in the name of development, gram sabhas and local citizens are repeatedly oppressed by using force without taking into account their demand which they have been raising through memorandums, marches and protests. In order to bring peace and order in the Scheduled Areas, the suppression of anti-mining protests and marches in the district should be stopped by taking police action, it was demanded.

The anti-mining agitation which has been going on for the past 250 days in Todagatta village has been recently suppressed by the district administration by using force, it was alleged. While the marches, agitations and activities of other parties and organizations are permitted in the district, the agitations and activities against the iron mines are suppressed, it was pointed out.

Don’t tribal people, gram sabha and their supporting leaders, activists, political parties, organizations have the right to protest for constitutional rights through peaceful means, it has been asked. Cases against the Gram Sabhas, political parties should be immediately withdrawn, it was demanded. Iron ore mines should be cancelled and FSEZs Forest Special Economic Zones should be created to provide employment through forest-based industries, it was further demanded.

CPI state executive member Dr. Mahesh Kopoolwar, Central Vice President of All India Republican Party Rohidas Raut, Peasants and Workers Party Leader Bhai Ramdas Zarate, District Secretary of Marxist Communist Party Ka. Amol Markwar, district in-charge of Bahujan Republican Socialist Party Raj Bansod, district president of Gondwana Gantantra Party Prashant Madavi, district secretary of CPI Devrao Chawale, Tribal Development Youth Council’s Kunal Kowe, Vinod Madavi, Former Zilla Parishad Member Sainu Gota, Rajan Borkar,  Former Panchayat Samiti Member Shilatai Gota, Jayashree Welda, Bajirao Usendi, Ashok Khobragade, Narendra Raipure, Kotturam Potavi, Savji Usendi, Dashrat Potavi , Prahlad Raipure, Sachin Motkurwar, Suraj Jakkulwar, Mangesh Holi were mainly present in the delegation.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here