A view of marathon

Gadchiroli March 5 (District Correspondent) A grand ‘Maha Marathon’ that was organized by the district police force with the concept ‘Run for the Tribal Development’ took place today. More than 10,000 youths and citizens participated in this historic marathon.

The marathon was inaugurated in presence of Dr. Deorao Holi, Krishna Gajbhe, MLAs, Praveen Salunkhe, Additional DG Sandeep Patil, DIG, Gadchiroli, Sanjay Meena, District Collector, Kumar Ashirwad, CEO, ZP, R. R. Patil, civil Judge, Ravindrasingh Pardeshi, SP, Chandrapur, Kishor Mankar, Conservator of forest, Mainak Ghosh, SDO, Shubham Gupta, SDO, Etapalli, R. S. Balapurkar, Commandant, CRPF Bn. 9, M. H. Khobragade, Commandant CRPF Bn. 37.

The marathon started from the Zilla Parishad ground in complex area and proceeded through ITI, Reliance Petrol Pump, Kargil chowk, Indira Square, Trends Mall and back to ZP ground. It was for the first time that a marathon was organized on such a grand level in the history of naxal sensitive district of Gadchiroli. The objective of the marathon was to promote the youths of them district to participate in national and international sports events and show their performance.

The marathon was organized in three different categories such as 3 kilometres, 5 kilometres and 10 kilometres. In every category three prizes each were declared for the for men and women participants. Separate prizes were also kept for the senior citizens category.

For the winners of 3 km marathon prizes of Rs. 11,000, 8,000 and 5,000 were given along with trophies, medals and certificates. In 5 km marathon, prizes of Rs. 15,000, 11,000 and 8,000 were given and in 10 km long marathon prizes of Rs. 21,000, 15,000 and 11,000 were given to the first three winners.

The marathon started at 5.30 am and concluded at 9.30 am. All the participants were given T shirts, bags and certificates. The marathon was shown on the official U tube channel of the police force. DJ was played to boost up the participants.

Many business groups in the district  including Bhagyashree Group of Industries, Bhumi Empire, Ajaydeep Construction, DCC Bank, Vayunandan Power Ltd., Swagat Celebration, B. S. Mehta Construction company, Mahatma Gandhi Vidyalaya, Deshmukh borewells, V. B. bommawar, Tiger Group and many others extended cooperation for the marathon. Mr. Kumar Chinta, Anuj Tare, Yatish Deshmukh, Additional SPs, Praneel Gilda, SDPO, Swapnil Jadhao, SDPO, Dhanora, Mayur Bhujbal, SDPO, Pendhri, and other police officers in the district took pains for the success of the marathon.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here