Nimgaon residents demand separate Gram Panchayat, threaten to boycott elections.

Mr. Chetan Surpam addressing the press conference as other members and villagers are seated.

Gadchiroli Sept. 27 (District correspondent) The elected members of Gram Panchayat from village Nimgaon in Dhanora taluka have demanded that Nimgaon be made separate village panchayat for the convenience of the people. They have warned to boycott all the coming elections if this demand is not fulfilled by the government.

Addressing a press conference at the Press Club here, Mr. Chetan Surpam, Dy. Sarpanch of the village panchayat told that the residents of Nimgaon have been demanding separate village panchayat at Nimgaon itself for the last over 25 years and have sent memorandums and proposals to the government many times. But their demand has been ignored all these years.

In fact, Nimgaon is a big village with a population of 1292 as per 2011 census.But the govt. has made village panchayat at village Nimanwada which has only 212 population. Presently this village panchayat includes four villages including Nimanwada, Nimgaon, Bori and Masargata. Out of total 9 members, Nimgaon alone elects as many as 6 members and remaining 3 members are from the other 3 villages.

The elected village panchayat members and the people of nimgaon find it quite difficult and troublesome to go to Nimanwada for their routine official works, meetings etc. Village Nimgaon should therefore be made separate village panchayat, demanded Surpam.

The village panchayat has sent a fresh official proposal to the Panchayat Samiti office around one month back but the Panchayat Samiti office has not yet given any reply nor has taken any action on this proposal which shows the negligence of the office towards our demand, alleged Surpam.

Considering the situation, Nimgaon should be made a separate village panchayat, he demanded. Also present at the press conference were Ms. Gopika Khobragade, Dewangana Ramteke, Meera Warkhede, all members, Deorao Mongarkar, ex Sarpanch, Tulshidas kukudkar, ex. Dy. Sarpanch, Gajanan Meshram, Vice President of Taluka BJP, Gunwant Khobragade and others.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here