Dr. Namdeo Kirsan wins from Gadchiroli Chimur Lok Sabha seat.

Dr. Namdeo Kirsan
Dr. Namdeo kirsan being given certificate of election by RO Sanjay Daine as Mahendra Bramhanwade and others look on.

Gadchiroli June 4 (District Correspondent) Dr. Namdeo Kirsan of the Congress Party has won the election from Gadchiroli Chimur Lok Sabha constituency. BJP’s two-time MP Ashok Nete, could not make a hat-trick this time and lost to the Congress candidate.

While Dr. Kirsan polled 6,14,610 votes, Mr. Nete got 4,74,376 votes. Dr. Kirsan won the election with a margin of 1,40,234 votes. Yogesh Gonnade of the BSP is placed on third number with 18,930 votes while the Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi was thrown on number four with just 15,824 votes. A total of 16,507 vote went to NOTA in this election.

A total of 10 candidates including Dr. Namdev Dasaram Kirsan (Indian National Congress), Yogesh Namdevrao Gonnade (Bahujan Samaj Party), Hitesh Madavi (Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi), Dheeraj Purushottam Shedmake (Janaseva Gondwana Party), Barikrao Dharmaji Madavi (Bahujan Republican Socialist Party) were in the fray.

Leader of Opposition Vijay Wadettiwar campaigned for Dr. Kirsan extensively. Actually, he was camping at Gadchiroli during the election time and focused on the seat. NCP leader Rohit Pawar also held a meeting in Gadchiroli district for the Congress candidate. Dy. Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis, Food and Drug Administration Minister Dharmarao Baba Atram campaigned for Ashok Nete.

A grand victory procession was taken out by the Congress workers and supporters in the city under the leadership of Mr. Vijay Wadettiwar. The leaders of various political parties supporting the Congress including Mahendra Bramhanwade, District President of Congress Party, Dr. Mahesh Kopulwar of CPI, Surendrasingh Chandel of Shiv Sena, Hansraj Undirwade of the Republican Party, Adv. Rambhau Meshram, former civic chief, Rajesh Katratwar, Atul Mallelwar and many others participated.

A large number of workers had assembled at Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar Square near ITI, few meters away from the counting centre. As soon as they got the news of Dr. Kirsan’s victory, they shouted slogans, spread gulal and danced to the tunes of band.

Speaking to the reporters, Mr. Wadettiwar said the victory was expected because the people were fed up with the divisive and anti-people policies of BJP government and false assurances given by Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Dr. Namdeo Kirsan thanked the electorates for their support and promised to work for their welfare and the development of the constituency. Team work of all the party workers and alliance partners made the election successful, he said.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here